Doctoral Programme in Clinical Psychology (MA then PhD)

The University of British Columbia, Department of Psychology · Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

  • PhD (with required MA stage)
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • On-campus
  • Research-oriented
Official sources checked
Official program name
Doctoral Programme in Clinical Psychology (MA then PhD)
Degree title
PhD (with required MA stage) (PhD (research doctorate); title shown as the institution gives it)
Subject
Clinical Psychology (standalone degree)
Campus
Vancouver campus, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Teaching language
English
Delivery mode
On-campus
Study intensity
Full-time
Duration
Not stated as a formal length; MA support 2 years and PhD support 4 years; average time to completion 7.0 years post-BA entry in 2025-26
Tuition
CA$5,739 first-year tuition, 2025 (domestic/international split not stated) (international)
Admission requirements
  • Master's thesis must be completed before PhD acceptance; applicants with only a bachelor's apply to the MA stage; criminal records check before admission and every 5 years; GRE recommended not required; about 300 applications per year, typically 4 to 6 offers. Base support 27,400 CAD/yr (MA) and 40,000 CAD/yr (PhD).
Prerequisites
Not published
Application deadlines
Current intake not confirmed.
Scholarships and funding
Not confirmed
Research or thesis
Not published
Supervised placements
Not confirmed
In-person attendance
Funded residency (year-long, at CPA-accredited or equivalent agency) mentioned; details not on page.

Professional recognition

  • Canadian Psychological Association (CPA): Accredited; initial accreditation 1986-87; next site visit 2027-28 (Doctoral, Clinical (Vancouver); Not stated; checked 2026-10-31)

Professional eligibility not confirmed. Check the regulator for your jurisdiction. Accreditation and eligibility do not transfer automatically between countries or US states.

Sources and review

Research notes

Director of Clinical Training Dr Sheila Woody. CPA page has no updated-date; list updated twice a year (Nov and May).

Last reviewed 2026-10-31. Details are as stated on the cited official pages. Confirm with the institution before applying.