PhD in Psychology

Research doctorates focused on original research and a dissertation.

A PhD is a research degree. Practice-oriented doctorates such as the PsyD are listed on their own page and are never relabeled as PhDs. Funding, stipends and studentship terms vary widely and are shown only when published.

156 listed programs

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Counseling Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

Psychology, Ph.D.

University of Manitoba · Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

  • Ph.D.
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Expected 3 years for non-clinical programs and 4 years for the clinical program

Official sources checked
  • PhD (no terminal MSc)
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

Psychology (PhD Program)

The University of British Columbia · Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

  • Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • General Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Full-time
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Typically 4-5 years after the MA

Official sources checked
  • Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • General Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Full-time
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · 12 terms (4 years)

Official sources checked

Clinical Psychology (PhD)

University of Victoria · Victoria, British Columbia, Canada

  • Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · 4 years PhD component plus year-long full-time residency at a CPA- or APA-accredited site

Official sources checked

Clinical Psychology (PhD)

University of Regina · Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

  • Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Hybrid
  • Full-time
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · 4 years, with thesis and comprehensive exams

Official sources checked
  • Philosophiae Doctor (PhD), structured
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • General Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Full-time / Part-time
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · 4 years full-time, 6 years part-time

Official sources checked
  • Doctor of Philosophy
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Research Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Full-time
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

PhD/MPhil Psychology

The University of Manchester · Manchester, England, United Kingdom

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • General Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Full-time / Part-time
  • Research-oriented

£12,500 per year (Low band, full-time and part-time) (domestic) · 3-4 years PhD (1-2 years MPhil)

Official sources checked

PhD Clinical Psychology

The University of Manchester · Manchester, England, United Kingdom

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Full-time / Part-time
  • Research-oriented

£12,500 per year (Low band, full-time and part-time) (domestic) · 3-4 years

Official sources checked

Psychology PhD

University of Nottingham · Nottingham, England, United Kingdom

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • General Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Full-time / Part-time
  • Research-oriented

£5,530 per year (full-time) (domestic) · Full-time up to 4 years; part-time up to 8 years

Official sources checked

Psychology PhD / MSc (Res)

University of Birmingham · Birmingham, England, United Kingdom

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • General Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Full-time / Part-time
  • Research-oriented

£5,400 per year (full-time, 2027 entry) (domestic) · PhD 3 years full-time, 6 years part-time

Official sources checked

PhD by research in Psychology

University of Southampton · Southampton, England, United Kingdom

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • General Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Full-time / Part-time
  • Research-oriented

£5,238 per year (2026-27, full-time) (domestic) · 3-4 years full-time; up to 7 years part-time

Official sources checked
  • PhD (with required MA stage)
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • On-campus
  • Full-time
  • Research-oriented

CA$5,739 first-year tuition, 2025 (domestic/international split not stated) (international) · Not stated as a formal length; MA support 2 years and PhD support 4 years; average time to completion 7.0 years post-BA entry in 2025-26

Official sources checked

Clinical Psychology (PhD)

Dalhousie University · Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • On-campus
  • Full-time
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · 5 years or longer (includes 1-year clinical residency/internship)

Official sources checked

PhD Psychology

University of Aberdeen · Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • General Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Full-time / Part-time
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

Clinical Psychology Ph.D. Program

University of Arkansas · Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

Psychology Ph.D.

University of Washington · Seattle, Washington, United States

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • General Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked
  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

$917 per credit · 5-6 years (five- or six-year plan option; 190 credits)

Official sources checked

Counseling Psychology, PHD

Marquette University · Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Counseling Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · 91 credit hours including 12-credit dissertation; at least 1,000 practicum hours and a 2,000-hour internship

Official sources checked
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Hybrid
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

$545 per quarter hour (coursework and dissertation) · Minimum five years; up to nine years allowed; 163 quarter credits

Official sources checked

PhD Program in Psychology

Stanford University · Stanford, California, United States

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • General Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

PhD in Clinical Psychology

Palo Alto University · Palo Alto, California, United States

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • On-campus
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Average of five years; 168 units, minimum 3 full-time academic years; must finish within 7 years

Official sources checked

PhD in Clinical Psychology

American University · Washington, District of Columbia, United States

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • On-campus
  • Full-time
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Five to six years full-time (72 credits)

Official sources checked

Clinical Psychology (Ph.D.)

Howard University · Washington, District of Columbia, United States

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • On-campus
  • Full-time
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · 72 credit hours (length in years not stated)

Official sources checked

Clinical Psychology (Ph.D.)

Florida State University · Tallahassee, Florida, United States

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Full-time
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

School Psychology

The University of Iowa · Iowa City, Iowa, United States

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • School Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Full-time
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology

Clark University · Worcester, Massachusetts, United States

  • Ph.D.
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

Ph.D. in Developmental Psychology

Clark University · Worcester, Massachusetts, United States

  • Ph.D.
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Developmental Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

Psychological & Brain Sciences (PhD)

Boston University · Boston, Massachusetts, United States

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • General Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

School Psychology PhD

University of Minnesota (Twin Cities) · Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • School Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · About four years of coursework and dissertation followed by a year-long internship

Official sources checked
  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Industrial-Organizational Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · 54 credit hours beyond the 36-hour master's, usually 3 to 4 years beyond the MA-Thesis

Official sources checked

Psychology, Ph.D.

University of New Hampshire · Durham, New Hampshire, United States

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • General Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · five-year program

Official sources checked

School Psychology, Ph.D.

Syracuse University · Syracuse, New York, United States

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • School Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Full-time
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Minimum of three years of full-time study; at least 90 credits including 6 internship credits

Official sources checked

Clinical Psychology Ph.D.

University of North Dakota · Grand Forks, North Dakota, United States

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • On-campus
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · 4-6 years (estimated); 92 credits

Official sources checked
  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • On-campus
  • Full-time
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Minimum 4 years full-time attendance post-baccalaureate; 113 minimum credit hours (98 for post-master's with waivers)

Official sources checked

Clinical Psychology (PhD)

Pacific University · Hillsboro, Oregon, United States

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • On-campus
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Five years, 119 credits

Official sources checked

PhD in Clinical Psychology

University of Memphis · Memphis, Tennessee, United States

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • On-campus
  • Full-time
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · 5 to 6 years including internship

Official sources checked
  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · five years: four years of coursework, research and clinical training, plus one-year internship

Official sources checked

Clinical Psychology Program (Ph.D.)

The University of Utah · Salt Lake City, Utah, United States

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

School Psychology Ph.D.

The University of Utah · Salt Lake City, Utah, United States

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • School Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

PhD in Clinical Psychology

Washington State University · Pullman, Washington, United States

  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Four to five years

Official sources checked
  • Ph.D. in Psychology
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • General Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

PhD in Clinical Psychology

Fielding Graduate University · Santa Barbara, California, United States

  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

$10,905 per term · 5 to 6 years

Official sources checked

PhD in Psychology

University of Oregon · Oregon, United States

  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • General Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · About five to seven years

Official sources checked

Psychology, Ph.D.

University of Oklahoma · Norman, Oklahoma, United States

  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • General Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

Clinical Psychology, Ph.D.

Sam Houston State University · Huntsville, Texas, United States

  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • On-campus
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · 4-5 years plus a 1-year internship

Official sources checked

Clinical Psychology, Ph.D.

The University of Tulsa · Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States

  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked
  • Ph.D
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

Ph.D. in Psychology

Cornell University · Ithaca, New York, United States

  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • General Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

Psychology PhD

Temple University · Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States

  • Doctor of Philosophy in Psychology
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • General Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Full-time
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

Clinical Psychological Science Ph.D.

Stony Brook University · Stony Brook, New York, United States

  • Ph.D.
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

Clinical Psychology PhD

Drexel University · Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States

  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

PhD in Clinical Psychology

Fairleigh Dickinson University · Teaneck, New Jersey, United States

  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Full-time
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Four-year plus internship, full-time; two-year residency requirement; students entering with a B.A. typically finish in 5-6 years

Official sources checked
  • Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • On-campus
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

$510 per credit hour, tuition only (domestic) · Five years: four years in residence plus a one-year off-site predoctoral internship

Official sources checked

Ph.D. in Psychology

University of Notre Dame · Notre Dame, Indiana, United States

  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • General Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked
  • Doctor of Philosophy in Clinical Psychology
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked
  • Doctor of Philosophy in Industrial-Organizational Psychology
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Industrial-Organizational Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked
  • PhD
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Counseling Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · At least three years of classes and supervised clinical training plus a one-year pre-doctoral internship

Official sources checked
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

Clinical Psychology

University of Kentucky · Lexington, Kentucky, United States

  • Ph.D.
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

Clinical Psychology, Ph.D.

Auburn University · Auburn, Alabama, United States

  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

Ph.D. in Psychology

Georgetown University · Washington, District of Columbia, United States

  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • General Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology

Biola University · La Mirada, California, United States

  • Doctor of Philosophy in Clinical Psychology
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • On-campus
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

$18,050 per term (block rate, 12-16 credits), 2026-27 · 5 years standard completion; 126 credits

Official sources checked

PhD in Psychology

University of Virginia · Virginia, United States

  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • General Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

PhD in Clinical Psychology

East Tennessee State University · Johnson City, Tennessee, United States

  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • Clinical Psychology
  • Delivery not confirmed
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

School Psychology (Ph.D.)

University of Washington · Seattle, Washington, United States

  • Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.)
  • PhD (research doctorate)
  • School Psychology
  • On-campus
  • Intensity not confirmed
  • Research-oriented

Tuition not published. · Duration not published.

Official sources checked

Related: Professional doctorates · PhD vs PsyD guide